The Perks Of Being A Wallflower

The Perks Of Being A Wallflower
Stephen Chbosky
Release Date: 1st February 1999
Pocket Books

This book made me think back to when I was 15. It is a coming of age story about a boy at high school who doesn’t quite fit in. A collection of letters to someone unknown tell a diary style story about life. I read it in two days which is good going for me, hasn’t been since Naive. Super when I last did that. So it must have something about it.

I really like The perks of being a wallflower. The writing is simple yet the events and thoughts are interesting, it has a similar feel to Naive. Super but with a clearer plot progression and more darkness while Naive. Super kept simple and generally happy. The boy talks about his family events, friends and romance and how he deals with it all, which happens to not be very well. He’s naive, and most of his thoughts are for others to be happy. Though he’s hurting himself at the same time as he continues to remain close friends with a girl he loves. The hurt isn’t from being friends but the case that she says she loves him and to write about her, even allowing a kiss. This moment seems like something good but ultimately she has a boyfriend and the moment will only hurt him more. And it’s true, the book deals with his emotions about his longing for her and everything else on top is just added damage to how he’ll end up.

I find it refreshing that the story doesn’t have the predicted ending, I felt it was coming but it didn’t. I really enjoyed this though the story tended to make me feel sad. A few things which happen link with a few things which happened to me or the way people perceived me. Some of his entries would push me to tears and I just had to remember this was a story about him and not me. I really wanted things to go right for him and when something bad happened I really felt it, he may say things like he was happy if others were but it was only damaging himself. The little touches such as record titles mentioned, TV shows and the Rocky Horror play add pop culture and a feeling of reality to the world. Nothing feels like it couldn’t have happened and I’m sure Stephen would have pulled a few things from his own life when creating the story. The fiction is apparent by how smooth the plot goes, it always feels like events are leading somewhere and twists and turns will create the solutions to the problems but I see it as a possible piece of semi-fiction even if it may be all fiction. It feels real and the main character makes this typically emo story not feel so.

I also really enjoy the quirks of the character. His love of making mix tapes to go with his experiences, the way he considers everything he goes through is something someone else has gone through to such as certain songs being of importance and discussions he has. It made me think that the world while moving forwards, is always talking and doing the same things. Everything is set and fresh new experiences aren’t really that as someone else will already have done it. The book made me, cry, look back, think forwards and holds a place firmly in my heart. I don’t know if I will see the film.


2 thoughts on “The Perks Of Being A Wallflower

  1. “The fiction is apparent by how smooth the plot goes, it always feels like events are leading somewhere and twists and turns will create the solutions to the problems” Do you not feel like this happens in real life, too?

  2. Sometimes but rarely in such a way that the outcome is positive when most of the time the bad times quickly lead to positive wrapping up here apart from the surprise ending.

Leave a Reply

