Memento

Film: Memento
Release Date: 5th September 2000
Director: Christopher Nolan 
Rating: 15
Pathe 

He’s always out making pictures, he’s always out making scenes. It’s all out the window when it comes to making dreams, it’s all mixed up. Backwards and forwards Guy Pearce as Lenny looks for the one who killed his wife. Starting with the ending and then the start, the colour drips back, the black and white shines forwards. ‘Talk about the story.’ I write.

Huh, where am I? Oh right, I’m in front of my laptop. Hmm, I’ve left a note. ‘Talk about the story’. I guess it’s a story about a guy with a condition of short-term memory, anterograde amnesia they call it. You remember things for a few moments, then they go. Lenny deals with this by taking pictures to remember people and places and making notes, some tattooed across his body. The film goes backwards when the picture is in colour and the fun comes from figuring out what’s happened previously. Scenes are linked by him losing his memory before it cuts back. We see Lenny at the start as a man who has just got revenge for his dead wife by killed Teddy, but as it twists back and we learn the truth the whole character has a different light displayed on him. In between these moments we get black and white footage which tells the story of someone who had the same problem as Lenny, who tells it over the phone.  At first everything is incredibly confusing, but it pieces together wonderfully as we reach the conclusion. How much can you figure out before all is revealed? I got a lot wrong and some things right. Take your eyes off the screen for one minute and become hopelessly lost in the world of Lenny. I write down ‘feeling’.

Hello I’m here to talk about the film Memento. What does this say… feeling? What is that supposed to mean? I feel a little crushed by all this and it’s giving me a headache. One of those headaches you can appreciate and get really into though. Masochism at its finest. Though, it isn’t such a bad feeling, you feel the confusion, but also the beauty. Lenny’s talks on his condition and the way people act is poignant, makes you think about the world. Plus, getting the result before getting the how creates a fresh dealing of suspense. Instead of the usual how ‘do’ they do it, you get the how ‘did’ they do it. A pretty unique feeling indeed. The concept and plot are one of the best I’ve witnessed in a long time. I best write down ‘conclusion’.

Urgh, I’m holding a baguette in my hands. I haven’t eaten it and I’m not hungry so what’s going on? Ah best look through my… ah, conclusion. Memento needs full attention and it may suffer a little from repetition, which is necessary really so people can see how scenes link to each other, but it’s fresh, engaging and powerful. Write down ‘finish’.

Leave a Reply

