Breaking Routine

The last dump

INT. SUE’s BEDROOM – Evening

The room is covered in thin pink curtains covering the doors, draws and bed. On the dark purple double bed lie SUE DAWN and SIMON DUSK. Sue Dawn is an attractive looking lady dressed in a red and white fast food outfit, apron, shirt and trousers. Simon Dusk has scruffy hair and is wearing a long jumper with a watch on each arm tightened over the sleeves. The two aren’t looking at each other and instead lie on the bed and look to the ceiling LISTENING to TRANCE. Simon turns to face Sue, his face is in a frown, a pained expression. She does not look at him.

SIMON DUSK

Sue I have something important I want to tell you.

SUE DAWN

The usual?

SIMON DUSK

The usual. I have to go, it’s time.

SUE DAWN

To do some reading before bed. I guess I’ll see you same time next week. The usual.

Simon picks out a timetable from his pocket. ‘8-10p.m Sue, 10-11p.m Book, 11-7.30a.m Bed.’ are some of the things he looks at on the piece of laminated card before he stuffs it back in his pocket. Sue stands up and looks at herself in the mirror.

montage

Day in the life of Simon. 7.30 a.m. Simon gets out of bed and does a bunch of star jumps. He then goes downstairs and eats WEETABIX for breakfast.

Sue is shown at her house getting up and brushing her teeth with a tired look on her face.

10 a.m. Simon is writing a TWITTER status. ‘New Beginnings’. The first of many Faith No More references.

Sue is dressed in her Bad Taste uniform behind the counter. She SLAPS a burger on a bun.

12 p.m. Simon is sat on a bench by the cafe ‘Anne’s Place’ he is watching people walk past.

Sue is smoking outside Bad Taste, squatting on the floor.

3 p.m. Simon is looking at books in a library. He puts one down titled ‘Death March’ then walks out.

Sue SLAPS another burger on a bun.

6 p.m. Simon is sitting on a table in his house alone. He has a candle lit meal of beans on toast.

Sue walks off from Bad Taste, greasy spots forming on her skin.

9 p.m. Simon watches a show on TV about crabs, looking terribly bored.

Sue is asleep on her bed listening to music.

‘A day in the life’ captions on the screen.

INT. BAD taste burger JOINT -DAY

Sue stands behind the counter as she stares at the window of her reflection. The burger joint is clinical and clean, a true product of commericalisation. Her staring is broken as the new worker STEVE CALLS her.

DAVE

Hey partner! Good morning!

Sue only shifts her eyes to the side to glance at Steve.

SUE DAWN

Look what we have here, a new guy for the slaughterhouse.

Steve stands tall and proud in his uniform, he may be a teenager but he seems to take great pride in his new job and bursts with enthusiasm. This is in comparison to Sue who slouches over the counter and serves a burger to a customer without a smile on her face.

Dave

Well I’m looking forward to working with you to.

EXT. THE BENCH BY ANNE’S PLACE – DAY

Simon sits on a bench by the cafe and seems to be in deep thought as he scratches his chin. He pulls out his timetable once more and SIGHS.

A young woman dressed in a black suit carrying a long object covered by a cloth walks past who catches Simon’s attention.

SIMON DUSK

Sue?

INT. BAD TASTE BURGER JOINT -DAY

Sue squats on the floor outside as she smokes a cigarette. The sky is grey, the floor is grey, the buildings are grey as the smoke she breathes out. Steve walks out and tries to stir up conversation.

Dave

You’ve been here a few years haven’t you?

SUE DAWN

Eight years.

DAVE

Where do you see yourself in the next eight?

SUE DAWN

Dead.

The sound of a GUNSHOT goes off inside. Steve looks in worry and heads back in slowly, he creeps to the door. Sue carries on with her cigarette.

Inside CLAIRE CLOUD dressed in a suit and with the almost same physical looks as Sue walks up to the counter with a shotgun rested against her shoulder. She SLAMS on the counter with her fist.

CLAIRE CLOUD

Anybody home, I’m looking to make an order.

Steve pops up from behind the counter shaking. He rubs his hands in a nervous gesture as he looks at the gun.

DAVE

H-how can I help you?

CLAIRE CLOUD

I’d like to make an order of every piece of meat you got in this here place.

DAVE

E-excuse me? I don’t think that is an option on the menu.

CLAIRE CLOUD

I don’t think it matters what the options are when you’re talking to a lady with a shotgun.

Steve starts to walk back into the kitchen area as he SOBS but Claire points her shotgun at him.

CLAIRE CLOUD

I’m coming to, don’t want any side order of cops.

As the two walk into the back, Claire notices Sue outside smoking. She stops her tracks before she steps outside.

The two are now staring at each, both sharing looks of surprise. Sue drops her cigarette to the floor and stands.

CLAIRE CLOUD

Well I be damned, it’s like looking in a mirror.

SUE DAWN

Who are you?

CLAIRE CLOUD

Boss of the meanest gang in town. You like working here?

SUE DAWN

I hate it.

CLAIRE CLOUD

Why don’t you saddle up with me then,I’m not one to go recruiting everyone but I’ve become a taken to your beautiful good looks.

Steve pops out around the corner with a puzzle expression. Claire glances at him before she FIRES her shotgun into him.

CLAIRE CLOUD

Don’t want to be a supporter of the animal eaters do ya?

SUE DAWN

I don’t really care, I’m done with this place.

INT. SUE’S BEDROOM – EVENING

Simon lies on the bed as he listens to TRANCE. This time he is on his own. The timetable which lays next to him suggests today is Tuesday so about a week has passed. In his hand he grasps a bracelet.

The radio stops playing music for the news.

RADIO announcer

This morning another meat supply van was sabotaged with the driver left dead. At least it looked like he was dead when I investigated the scene.

He lies there for a moment but as soon as the NEWS ENDS he finds himself surrounded by guns. Men in suits all have their guns pointed at him. The men have emerged from the door, behind the curtains, from the bathroom and out of a pot. Simon looks at them and YAWNS.

GUARD 1

You’re no girl.

SIMON DUSK

I’m just flat chested with a rough voice.

The guards LAUGH for a moment before they jump Simon and pull him from the bed.

GUARD 2

We’ll see how you like talking to the boss.

INT. MIDNIGHT GROOVE BAR

The bar is dimly lit with no one but Claire and Sue in. Claire is behind the clean modern styled bar as she serves Sue a drink, a dry bloodstain is against the dark wall. Sue sips the drink as she stares at the stains on the wall.

SUE DAWN

Where are the other members, I’ve yet to meet any.

CLAIRE CLOUD

Don’t worry, you’ll meet them soon. How has your first week been.

SUE DAWN

I haven’t really done anything. It doesn’t really concern me if these meat eaters live or die though killing them does seem a touch extreme.

Claire pours another drink and gulps it down herself.

CLAIRE CLOUD

You don’t know how far this all goes. It was a rainy day when I saw them. Men in suits carrying away some body bags.

Sue looks at Claire with interest. Claire holds up some match sticks with a scrap of paper stuck to the ends. She moved the match sticks to represent the people and the bags.

CLAIRE CLOUD

I wondered what the butcher, the barber and the lollipop woman could be doing with a body bag. So I followed them.

SUE DAWN

Where did they go?

CLAIRE CLOUD

Underground.

Claire points down and throws the match sticks onto the floor.

SUE DAWN

A crypt? Maybe they all knew someone who fell victim to death?

CLAIRE CLOUD

Oh yeah, everyone knows everyone here. Everyone knows everyone and everyone is involved. The whole town sending bodies underground. I saw a factory.

Sue raises any eyebrow.

SUE DAWN

I guess I’m not everyone. A factory?

CLAIRE CLOUD

A human meat factory.

INT. INTERROGATION ROOM – EVENING

The room is a dark cellar. The only light comes from a swinging bulb on the low ceiling which shows the moss and slime on the walls. A dodgy looking wooden table in the centre of the small room is where a large man sits on one side. Simon sits on the other looking out of it.

The man in front of Simon is CHEESECAKE. A large man wearing a fine cream suit. He has golden teeth as he grins and hands the size of frying pans. He is balding and looks a dodgier than the table in between the two of them. In the corner of the room is one GUARD in a black suit of little description and a man on the other side who is FISH EYES. Fish Eyes is tall, lanky and has an eel like face. Small lips and eyes popping out with a Mohawk hair style.

Cheesecake rubs his hands and looks at Simon.

CHEESECAKE

Hello, Simon Dusk. I’m sorry for the slightly rough entrance here… but you must know the town is in great peril and I need your help.

SIMON DUSK

I don’t like this one bit. I should be in bed by now ready for a fresh start tomorrow.

Simon is fidgety and now looks irritated.

CHEESECAKE

Now, now. I can pay you handsomely if you can help me and my merry men out. You see, I believe my daughter is causing a bit of trouble around town. And she’s with your friend Sue Dawn, or at least I think she’s your friend.

SIMON DUSK

She isn’t my friend. At least, not for long she isn’t.

Cheesecake FLICKS a photo forward showing Claire Cloud with a smile.

SIMON DUSK

Sue?

CHEESECAKE

They look alike don’t they? She is my daughter Claire. She decided to start her own gang when I declined her joining mine. I worried for her you see… Anyway, I think if you can find your friend she will listen to you.

SIMON DUSK

I guess… I have to see her one more time anyway.

Cheesecake CLAPS his hands together and grins.

CHEESECAKE

Excellent! You can go out tomorrow and look for them then. Offer my daughter a place in my gang, that will surely bring her round. I’ll have Fish Eyes accompany you.

Fish Eyes walks to the table and bows to Simon. Simon rolls his eyes. Cheesecake stands up and walks to the exit. He stops and turns around.

CHEESECAKE

Oh, and don’t listen to anything Claire tells you. She likes to make things up.

EXT. Bench outside Anne’s Place – Day

Simon is sat on the bench as he watches people walk by. Fish Eyes is doing the same. Simon looks gloomy as he glances down at his time table.

SIMON DUSK

12 p.m. Bench sitting time. Also looking for Sue.

Fish Eyes SIGHS and stands up.

FISH EYES

I do believe that we should walk around in hopes to find Miss. Claire and your friend.

Simon lies on the bench, his hands behind his head.

SIMON DUSK

Give it till eleven, then we’ll look in the local museum. That’s next on the list.

Outside the cafe  by the bench sits HAN SON. He wears a white tuxedo and his hands are covered in gold rings. His face is handsome with perfectly formed stubble and wavy blond hair. He is looking at a script.

HAN SON

Hmm, hmmmmmm, HMMMMMMM! This is just no good,lala. I want to run, jump and set myself on fire, none of this green screen nonsense, lala.

Han sips a latte and sees Simon lying on the bench and Fish Eyes next to him.

HAN SON

Lala, I wish I could be as carefree as him.

Han sips his latte again while he sees the gun hanging out of Fish Eye’s pocket. He SPITS his latte drink out. He puts the now drenched script down and walks over.

HAN SON

Delinquent on the bench,are you okay? I see this man is troubling you with his piece, lala.

Fish Eyes SNARLS and stuffs the gun deeper into his pockets. Simon looks at Han with little interest.

SIMON DUSK

I’d be more worried about you. What type of person goes talking to strangers on the street. They have a word for that.

HAN SON

Lala, I see people are so protective of themselves in this day and age. No wonder they film explosions with computers now and not the real thing. Boom! I want to feel the heat behind my back and the sense of adventure!

Simon and Fish Eyes look at each other than click their fingers as they realise who the man is.

SIMON DUSK and FISH EYES

I know you! Han Son, actor of Death By Concrete 1, 2 and 3!

Han Son grins and winks showing his sparkling white teeth.

HAN SON

Did you just call me handsome? Why thank you!

SIMON DUSK AND FISH EYES

Your acting sucks.

HAN SON

Ouch lala!

At this point the SOUND OF AN EXPLOSION can be heard. The three look to the gas station and see a smoldering fire. The three run off in that direction.

EXT. GAS STATION – DAY

Sue and Claire walk through the gas burning gas station shotguns in hand. The two are now wearing tight black leather outfits and thick boots with pink eye masks. Their hair blows in the wind, Sue with short cut hair and Claire with long flowing hair. One the front of Sue’s suit is the letter S in pink while Claire has the letter C on hers.

CLAIRE CLOUD

shouting) How does it feel to shoot your first gun?

SUE DAWN

Great! But why are we blowing up a gas station?

Claire climbs onto a burnt out car and holds her hands out in the air. She closes her eyes and feels the warm embers which fly past her head.

CLAIRE CLOUD
Destruction… is so fun!

She opens her eyes wide as she beings to LAUGH. Her face is maniacal. She spins round and holds her hand out to Sue.

CLAIRE CLOUD
Sue my dear sister, the town is owned by the gang. The town is the gang and the people are eating each other. Burning everything to the ground will save us all.

Sue looks at her with concern. Before she can say anything the two notice Han Son, Simon Dusk and Fish Eyes heading towards them. Claire PUMPS her shotgun up and FIRES.

Han trips up and falls flat on his face with a THUD. A bullet flies past and BLOWS UP a plant pot by a house. FISH EYE pulls his gun out and FIRES back. The three take cover by a car. Fish Eye checks his other pocket and tosses a gun to Simon who fumbles it.

FISH EYES

Ever used a gun before Sir. Dusk?

SIMON DUSK

Sure, I used to play House of The Dead all the time at the arcades.

HAN SON

I’ve used an air gun, lala.

Simon throws the gun at Han’s face.

SIMON DUSK

You take it then, I’ll try and get closer so Sue can see me.

Han Son shoots the gun with safety on which results in nothing. Another BLAST comes from Claire’s side. She LAUGHS as she fires and walks forwards. Sue cautiously follows by crawling on the floor. After numerous SHOTS Claire climbs onto the car Fish Eye’s and Han are taking cover behind. Fish Eye tries to shoot but he’s out of ammo. Han Son is still shooting with the safety on. Claire jumps down and plunges the barrel of the shotgun down Fish Eye’s throat.

FISH EYES

MMMPPPHHH!

CLAIRE CLOUD
Mother, I erase another evil on society. Forgive me.

Han charges and pushes Claire. She falls CRASHES through the car window, falling onto a seat. Simon stands behind Sue who was watching the scene in horror.

HAN SON

Lala, such brutish battle tactics from such a darling. I don’t want to hurt a woman, but I’ll protect my friends!

FISH EYES

Cough! I don’t even know you! But thanks.

Claire SCREAMS and fumbles for the door lock. The door CLICKS open and she stumbles out. She tries to YANK the shotgun from Han who steps back and falls over once more. Simon walks to Sue and puts his arm on her shoulder. Sue turns around and SHRIEKS.

SIMON DUSK

Hi Sue. I haven’t seen you on a Friday for a long time.

SUE DAWN

You scared me, shouldn’t you be sitting on a bench somewhere?

Claire sees Simon has hold of Sue and pulls a knife from her suit. She charges down and SLASHES at Simon’s face. She only manages to skim him though, but a cut is made.

SIMON DUSK

Argh!

Sue steps forward and holds her arms out.

SUE DAWN

Wait! He’s my friend!

Claire drops the knife and hugs Sue.

CLAIRE CLOUD

It’s okay. Tell yourself that.

INT. INTERROGATION ROOM – AFTERNOON

Simon, Fish Eyes, Han Son, Claire and Sue are all standing around the table in the small cellar room. Sue is standing by Simon.

FISH EYES

It’s good to have you back Miss. Claire. Your father will be happy to see you.

Sue looks to Claire.

SUE DAWN

You’re father is the boss of the town gang? Why are we fighting them then?

CLAIRE CLOUD

I guess I was just proving a point. None of them could catch us, what a useless gang! I was more than capable!

SUE DAWN

What about the human me…

Claire rushes towards Sue and kisses her before she can answer. She embraces her tightly. Everyone is looking at them in shock, going bright red. She pulls he lips away and WHISPERS to Sue.

CLAIRE CLOUD

(Whispering)Shh, it’s okay, everything is fine. We can’t let them know, just do what I tell you.

Claire steps away and moves back to the side of the room she was at. Fish Eye COUGHS and puts a large revolver down on the table.

FISH EYES

So you want to join the gang I here?

CLAIRE CLOUD

Uh huh, father should see I’m a valuable asset now.

FISH EYES

Then everyone here must prove their worth and take part in a game if they want in.

SUE DAWN

A game?

FISH EYES

A way to show you all have the commitment and loyalty. A game of Russian Roulette! I’ll play too of course.

Sue sweats at the forehead and steps back. Simon sits on the chair in the corner pulling out his timetable and looking at it. Claire sits down as does Han. Fish Eyes looks around once more then sits down himself.

FISH EYES

I’ll go first, then Claire, then Han.

He spins the barrel and CLICKS the trigger with the gun  against his head. Nothing happens. He places it down and passes it to Claire.

Meanwhile Sue and Simon sit in the corner watching.

SIMON DUSK

How was it?

SUE DAWN

How was what?

SIMON DUSK

The kiss. Was it hot?

SUE DAWN

She’s my sister.

SIMON DUSK

You don’t have a sister.

SUE DAWN

That’s why we kiss.

SIMON DUSK

Wincest. False wincest.

Sue looks at the timetable in Simon’s SHAKING hand.

SUE DAWN

You’re scared.

SIMON DUSK

I’m not. I’m irritated.

SUE DAWN

Just tear it up.

Han puts the gun to his head and CLICKS the trigger. Nothing. His hand trembles as he hands it over to Fish Eyes.

SIMON DUSK

I feel vulnerable. I can’t tear it up. I’m no good in a gang either.

SUE DAWN

Me neither. Why are we here?

SIMON DUSK

It’s a bit different isn’t it? For the first time in years I feel like I have butterflies suffocating me inside.

SUE DAWN

But you didn’t play the game. What are you going to do now? Go back?

SIMON DUSK

I don’t know. Sitting on a bench everyday isn’t going to change anything is it?

SUE DAWN

No, it’s not. Nor is working at Bad Taste everyday. Life is a drag, but the thrills seem too dangerous.

SIMON DUSK

I thought if I kept the timetable I could stay focused, but I feel like I’m being raped by the rules I made. But I felt I was good at keeping to it, a purpose.

The gun was passed around the table again. Lots of CLICKS and still no deaths. Sue put her arm around Simon. Simon nervously smiled then pushed her arm away.

SUE DAWN

You could have left a long time ago.

SIMON DUSK

I can’t.

SUE DAWN

It’s never going to happen.

SIMON DUSK

If I try my best.

Sue stand sup, the chair HITTING THE FLOOR.

SUE DAWN

Don’t you get it?! I’m never going to date you! Get out of here!

BANG! The gun goes off. Simon and Sue turn to see Han on the floor. They rush over, but he’s okay. The bullet only took some of his hair off.

HAN SON

That would be a deleted scene.

EXT. PARK -SUNSET

Simon watches ducks at the pond. The sun is setting past the pond. He looks down at the timetable in his hand. It says ‘7 p.m watch the ducks at the pond.’ He begins to cry, tears dropping into the pond.

INT. CLAIRE’S ROOM – night

Claire’s room is extravagant. Royal sized bed with ruby red curtains. The pillows all have gems in the centre and the huge table is full of jewelry and cakes. Claire sits by the table looking at herself in the mirror while Sue lies on her bed.

SUE DAWN

So the game was rigged?

CLAIRE CLOUD

Father wouldn’t hurt me. The bullet which went off was rigged to go off on that crummy actor. He was lucky.

Sue SIGHS. She looks around the room with a melancholy look.

SUE DAWN

I’d never have a room like this. I was only good enough to flip burgers. Flipping till I’m crippling.

Claire walks over and falls onto Sue. She hugs her tightly. Her BREATHING TURNS HEAVY.

CLAIRE CLOUD

But you’ve got it by joining me. Together we will save the town. We can get easy access to the factory now. Blow it up with the dynamite I found.

Sue tries to push Claire off, but her grip is too tight.

SUE DAWN

Where is the rest of the gang? I thought you had more members?

Claire GIGGLES. She scrapes her nails down Sue’s back and GROANS.

SUE DAWN

Get off me. This is weird.

Claire quickly gets off. She frowns and glares at Sue.

CLAIRE CLOUD

I thought you were a lesbian. So it’s not true?

SUE DAWN

We’re sisters.

CLAIRE CLOUD

You’re no fun. Guess that guy did leave an impression. Why did you shout at him?

SUE DAWN

I didn’t shout.

CLAIRE CLOUD

Why do you throw him away?

SUE DAWN

He needs to move out of here.

CLAIRE CLOUD

He’ll need to move out soon… I’ve already planted the dynamite. The town will blow sky high by the end of tonight.

Sue’s eyes go wide. She storms off to the door exit. Claire grabs a sword from the corner and throws it past Sue, the sword SMACKS into the door. Sue stops in her tracks.

CLAIRE CLOUD

I can’t let my sister go off and get herself blown up. Boom.

On the other side of the door stands Han by the sword sticking out. He looks terrified.

HAN SON

Lala, I think I may have urinated. Deleted scene. So not very handsome.

EXT. ANNE’S PLACE -NIGHT

Simon is sat at the cafe drinking a can of iced tea. The full moon is out, a cloudless night. He is sat outside on his own, the tables around him are empty, the cafe is shut. He looks to the bench he usually sat at.

SIMON DUSK

A couple of days can show just how stupid everything is.

He gets up and walks to the bench. He looks at it closer up and then KICKS it over. He starts KICKING the bench furiously as he SCREAMS.

SIMON DUSK

I’m so stupid! She’s a lesbian! I’m an idiot! I don’t need to force myself to do anything.

He stops attacking the bench then lifts it up back to how it was. He sits down and WEEPS.

SIMON DUSK

Everything’s ruined.

Han Son appears and sits next to him.

HAN SON

Think of this as the part of the film when you learn you’re mistakes and improve. Save the damsel in distress. That’s how my scripts always go, lala.

Simon looks at Han rubbing the tears out of his eyes. Han pats him on the back and takes the iced tea from his hands, taking a swig.

SIMON DUSK

You’re just an actor. I don’t even know you.

HAN SON

Lala, just an actor. Girls fight to get a feel of me my boy! And you have to go to Sue. This town won’t be here in the morning.

SIMON DUSK

I don’t care. Let it burn.

HAN SON

She isn’t a lesbian.

Simon’s eyes lit up with fury.

INT. CLAIRE’S ROOM – NIGHT

Sue looks at the moon outside from the window. CLASSICAL MUSIC PLAYS as she sits alone. She sees an image of Bad Taste in her mind and she smiles. Then LAUGHS. She falls back onto the dressing room chair, her arms falling back as she looks at the ceiling. The ceiling has ripples. She squints and sees the shape of a heart in the ripples. Then an explosion.

SUE DAWN

She’s a liar. Nothing will happen. Just another routine.

INT. UNDERGROUND CENTRE – NIGHT

Claire sets a C4 on the pillar structure of the room. The room is a huge underground full of concrete pillars and a huge fuel supply. A factory stands in the centre of this underground, steam pours out of the chimneys. A dumpster is full of skeletons skinned to the bone. A conveyor can be seen with skin from humans moving along the line. Claire stares at the scene without blinking. Her eyes are wide, reflecting the dead bodies.

Cheesecake runs in, his flab swinging about.

CHEESECAKE

Claire-kins, what are you doing?

Claire blinks and the factory, dumpster and conveyor belts vanish. The room is just a cold open underground space full of pillars and C4 lined against them.

CLAIRE CLOUD

Putting the town out of their misery.

CHEESECAKE

What are you talking about. What are these doing on the walls?

Claire remains silent as she walks up to her father.

CHEESECAKE

Claire, answer me!

BANG! Claire swings her shotgun round and pumps her father full of lead. He goes silent with a shocked expression upon his face and a hole in his stomach. He kneels over and GASPS for air.

CLAIRE CLOUD

Meat is bad father. I’m taking care of your evil deeds. I’m saving everyone, I’ll watch them burn in happiness. I also got myself the sister you never gave me. Goodbye.

She SHOOTS her father once more.

EXT. OUTSIDE THE GANG BASE – NIGHT

Han and Simon stand by the entrance guarded by Fish Eyes. Fish Eyes crossed his arms.

FISH EYES

I’m thankful you got us our dear Claire back Sir. Dusk, but I can’t let you in.

HAN SON

Hey! Claire got a subordinate, so why don’t I?

FISH EYES

Because you’re not the bosses daughter.

HAN SON

But I am handsome.

Simon walks in front of Han and spreads his arms out.

SIMON DUSK

Can I at least see Sue?

Before Fish Eyes can answer the sound of GUN FIRE is heard. Fish Eyes turns and runs off. Simon and Han follow.

INT. CLAIRE’S ROOM – NIGHT

Claire SHOOTS down a guard as she bursts into the room. She throws her gun to Sue and starts to undress.

SUE DAWN

What the hell are you doing?

CLAIRE CLOUD

They’ve become hostile. Fear not, I planted the explosives.

Claire grabs a dress on a mannequin and throws it on.

SUE DAWN

Shit! Why are you putting a dress on at a time like this?

A guard wanders in and goes red at Claire bent over trying to fit the dress over her head. SUE SQUEALS AND FIRES. The bullet pierces the guard who collapses.

SUE DAWN

Fuck… fuck! I just shot that guy! Why did I do that!

Claire now with the dress on gives her a thumbs up and throws her a dress.

CLAIRE CLOUD

You’re learning! Now put this on and lets get out of here in style.

INT. UNDERGROUND BASE- NIGHT

Han and Simon run after Fish Eyes who steers around a corner and up a ramp which leads to the surface. On the surface is a bridge over a river leading to a small house. Guards are lined up around the house with their guns aiming at the entrance and windows.

HAN SON

This is where I heard them last. Go get them.

SIMON DUSK

I’m not going in when the situation is clearly dangerous.

Fish Eyes is talking to a nearby GUARD. The guard hands him a megaphone. He places the magaphone in front of his mouth.

FISH EYES

Miss Claire and Sue, come out right now with your hands up! We have you surrounded… always wanted to say that.

INT. CLAIRE’S ROOM – NIGHT

Scissors SNIP Claire’s hair so the length is the same as Sue’s. She grabs a shotgun from a toybox in the corner of the room and grins.

CLAIRE CLOUD

Go round the back and run as far as you can. I’ll meet you at Bad Taste in half an hour. Now, go!

Sue runs out the door and Claire presses a button tied to her wrist which CLICKS.

CLAIRE CLOUD

Round one.

EXT. CLAIRE’S HOUSE – NIGHT

The front row of the house EXPLODES. Han and Simon fall back as the smoke rises. The two watch as the smoke clears and we see a bloody mess on the floor. Fish Eyes is still standing though his hands have been taken out. He BLUBS like a fish then falls off the bridge with a SPLASH.

SIMON DUSK

I thought he was going to go out in a cooler way than that. He did have a name after all.

The two keep watching and see a girl run from the right and another from the left. The two look at each other in confusion.

HAN SON

Which one is which? They look the same to me!

SIMON DUSK

Let’s split!

The two run off in separate directions after the two girls.

EXT. TOWN STREETS -NIGHT

The streets are eerily empty. A random cat trots past as Sue runs. She holds the long dress with her hands so she doesn’t trip. She turns a corner and is greeted by a set of guards all with their guns pointed towards her.

GUARD 1

Claire Cloud, for treason on our boss Cheesecake, you’re going down!

SUE DAWN

I’m not Claire! I’m Sue, I didn’t do anything, I just got forced into all this!

GUARD 2

You can’t fool us! Die!

BULLET FIRE goes off from the front. Sue shuts her eyes and  SCREAMS as the bullets speed past her. The GUNFIRE goes on for a few moments before it settles down. She opens her eyes and sees she is unharmed. She looks forward and sees a white tuxedo in front of her.

Han has jumped in front and defended her from the gun fire. He is BREATHING DEEPLY and covered in holes. Blood trickles from every inch of his body as he stands with his arms and legs wide apart to protect Sue.

SUE DAWN

Why? You should be shooting the next crap flick, not gettin yourself killed!

Han smiles before he COUGHS UP BLOOD. He turns his head slightly to look at her.

HAN SON

A hero… cough… always arrives late. I.. feel like… I’ve finally lived the movies… as a hero.

He grins and collapses to the floor. The guards look in astonishment before attempting to reload. Sue runs off in the over direction.

SUE DAWN

Thank you, I’ll buy your box set if I get out of this alive.

Han lies in a pool of his own blood dead. He died with a smile on his face and at peace.

EXT. TOWN BACK ALLEYS – NIGHT

Claire waltzes through the alleys HUMMING. She spins around and sees Simon watching her. She stops and pulls the shotgun from her back.

SIMON DUSK

I guess I chased the wrong person.

CLAIRE CLOUD

Or maybe the right. I’m the one with the key to this city.

SIMON DUSK

I don’t care about that, this city is a dead end of messed up people, me included.

Claire struts around Simon checking him out.

SIMON DUSK

Why did no guards go this way?

CLAIRE CLOUD

Sacrifices have to be made. Claire had to go and Sue was dragged into all so she could escape freely.

SIMON DUSK

You’re full of shit.

CLAIRE CLOUD

And so was she. A lesbian, don’t make me laugh. How does it feel to be rejected completely with lies?

SIMON DUSK

I was living a lie myself, feigning importance.

CLAIRE CLOUD

Are you a meat eater?

SIMON DUSK

There is no human meat factory!

Claire looks angry and thrusts her gun forwards.

CLAIRE CLOUD

Why does everyone say that! I see it with my own eyes. Everyone is eating away at each other, everyday and it must be stopped.

She SHOOTS but hits a pipe instead. Water BURSTS OUT and she runs off. As she runs she clicks another button on her wrist and a HUGE EXPLOSION goes off.

EXT. OVERHEAD VIEW OF TOWN – NIGHT

An intense EXPLOSION goes off in the centre of the town. All the pills below EXPLODE and the buildings cave in. The shrill sound of SCREAMS are heard as the centre is torn apart. Guards try to run but are incinerated in the inferno which blows out.

EXT. town BACK ALLEYs -NIGHT

Simon dives as the buildings fall apart. He sees the bench by Anne’s Place SNAP in two. The library he visits everyday slice in half, the lakeside park on fire. He SLAPS himself and runs off.

Claire bumps into a group of guards who are looking for her. They spot her and point.

CLAIRE CLOUD

Shit, did Sue get away?

She rips the dress she is wearing so she can run easier. She turns back and through the smoke and fire she sees the factory still standing. Human skin begins walking out of the flames and she SCREAMS.

CLAIRE CLOUD

I failed?! They factory still continues to run?

She scarpers off as the guards look confused as they turn a different corner.

EXT. BAD TASTE BURGER JOINT -NIGHT

Claire reaches the entrance to Bad Taste, still standing after the explosion as it is in the towns outskirts. She looks around then stumbles in through the door.

INT. BAD TASTE BURGER JOINT -NIGHT

The joint is dark, since the attack at the start no one has used the place. She sits by the entrance stares and looks at the menu which flickers. Different burgers for sale. She turns and sees Sue sitting next to her.

SUE DAWN

Hi, sis.

CLAIRE CLOUD

I failed. The factory still stands. What a mess.

Sue stands up and SHOUTS.

SUE DAWN

It’s all in your head! You have no gang, there is no human meat factory and you’ve just blown half the town up because of fucking delusions in your head!

The two grow silent and Sue sits back down again. She puts her hands on her face then removes them.

SUE DAWN

Funny thing is, I don’t even care.

Claire looks at her and pulls the shotgun from her back.

CLAIRE CLOUD

Sis, they’re coming to get us. They’ll be here soon. We’re going to be killed. We failed. Let us end this with dignity by ending it ourselves.

She places the gun to her head, holding it up with both hands. Sue watches her wearily and does the same.

SUE DAWN

You’re right. Might as well end it now then they ending it for us.

A shadow is seen by the entrance door and the sound of a GUNSHOT is heard.

Sue still has the shotgun to her head. She puts it down and looks to the dead body of Claire next to her. Claire lies with a hole in her brain.

SUE DAWN

I’m sorry, I couldn’t do it. I couldn’t play Russian Roulette earlier either.

The SOUND OF THE DOOR is heard as Simon walks through in sweats. He looks at the body of Claire and grimaces. He then looks to Sue.

SIMON DUSK

Stopped playing gangs now?

Sue LAUGHS awkwardly.

SUE DAWN

You not in bed ready for another day of sitting around different places?

Simon takes the timetable from his pockets and looks at it. He then looks at the town outside, the burning fires and broken buildings.

SIMON DUSK

I’d have to make some new adjustments.

The two look at each other then the two LAUGH. They LAUGH LOUDLY, reduced to tears. Simon kneels on the floor as he does and Sue crawls over to him. She holds out her hand and puts it on his knee.

SUE DAWN

It takes someone to tear the city apart for you to change your ways. Why don’t we leave together.

Simon strokes her hair for a moment then lifts his hands away. He stands up, brushing off the arm on his lap.

SIMON DUSK

You could have stopped her, you just followed like a blind dog.

Sue’s smile vanishes. She stands up and gives a nervous smile.

SUE DAWN

She was crazy, there was nothing I could have done!

SIMON DUSK

All she needed was an understanding sister.

Simon throws the timetable into the air. The times, days and events can be seen as it flows through the air. It sways through the air gently, the dim light of the order menu screens shining through. It falls into Sue’s hands. Simon turns round and makes his way to the exit. Sue runs to try and stop him, she holds out her arms in desperation dropping the timetable. As she runs her heels put a hole through the paper and her next step tears the paper in pieces.

SIMON DUSK

I’m going back to my parents and I’m going to start a fresh. I won’t be needing that anymore.

He waves as he walks out, disappearing into the distance. Sue walks behind the bar and starts the cooker up. She grabs a burger from the supplies and FLIPS it one more time.

The End

Leave a Reply

