Super Mario Land 2: 6 Golden Coins

Super Mario Land 2: 6 Golden Coins
Format: Nintendo 3DS eShop Virtual Console / Game Boy
Price: £3.60
Players: 1
Genre: Platformer
Release Date: 28th January 1993 / 29th September 2011 (vc)
Nintendo

Super noodles with melted cheese in the cold month of January while I tackle Wario’s castle. That is the strongest memory of this game, back when my Aunt used to look after me and my sister when my parents went away skiing. I also remember the time I pretended to be ill so I could get school off for the day and grab the six golden coins. Then the many times I would pause at tricky bits and leave the Game Boy all day while I was away. The first game I ever owned along with the original Super Mario Land, but the first I finished. It has been years since I played this and nostalgia was hitting me the moment I saw that title screen once more.

Mario’s cousin, Wario (the first game for the evil fatty), has taken over Mario’s castle while he was busy saving Daisy in the last game.Mario must visit six zones and collect the golden coins to open the door to his castle. This is the simple premise, for the player it means they must visit trees, seas, graveyards  and even space, jumping over gaps and on enemies as they go.

This sequel improved on the original with more levels, chunkier visuals and secret levels. It looks like a miniaturised version of Super Mario World, though the challenge tends to be largely missing here. It is very easy to obtain 99 lives and most of the levels are straight lines with few gaps or obstacles. As a child it was the perfect difficulty, but now with my experience Mario skills it is a little tame. Only two levels, a secret exit and the final level, pose any challenge and create that thrill you get when you are making impossible leaps and blasting over collapsing platforms. Maybe more challenging secret levels would have helped.

The game also has a few things I don’t remember as a kid, largely due to not being familiar with game flaws. When more than two enemies make it onto the screen, the game slows down to a sluggish crawl. Back then I probably thought it was something normal, somehow. I also noticed the game takes a few enemies out of the equation upon death. Switching to easy mode is all well and good after many deaths, but not when you have only kicked the bucket once. Maybe it is just a glitch, but those fish were there before!

Despite not being quite the game I remember as a kid, the game is still great fun. Floating through space is one of those magical moments and the level settings are a little out of the norm compared to other Mario titles. It would be nice to see more than just the standard mushroom kingdom worlds in the new side scrolling games. Super Mario Land 2 6 Golden Coins brings back mainly fond memories and has me hankering for super noodles with cheese. I bet that isn’t as good as I remember either.

7/10

Leave a Reply

