Crazy, Stupid, Love

Crazy, Stupid, Love
Directors: Glenn Ficarra & John Requa
Release Date: 29th July 2011
Rating: 12
Carousel Productions, Warner Bros. Pictures 

Intolerable Cruelty a few weeks back and now Crazy, Stupid, Love. I should get my bottle of wine and Ben & Jerry’s ice cream too so I can complete the picture. Ryan Gosling pulled me in, it’s all his fault!

Crazy, Stupid, Love starts with Emily Weaver (Julianne Moore) asking for a divorce with Cal Weaver (Steve Carell) while the two dine. Cal doesn’t take the news to well, especially the fact Emily slept with a coworker, so steps out of the moving car to deal with it.  He decides to try to move on by whiling away the hours in a fancy bar, but his negative attitude is getting him nowhere. This is where Jacob Palmer (Ryan Gosling) steps in to help him out. Jacob is a womaniser, he knows all the moves and plans to teach Cal in the art of pulling. The unlikely duo form a bond as they start to take girls home, but Cal realises he just wants his wife back. There are other sub plots moving alongside the main plot, such as Cal’s son’s quest for love with his babysitter, and everything comes together for an explosive finish. Though the film unfortunately contains no explosions.

The pulling techniques from Cal are often hilarious as he awkwardly makes the same mistakes I do on a night out and I could relate with his struggles there. I may not be 44 and divorced, but I say the wrong things and make the wrong moves. I need a Jacob in my life! Though the story veers in the direction of one night stands being empty and soulless in comparison to that funny thing called love, and it often pushes the point of having a soul mate a touch too hard. Never give up, even if you have to stalk them a little! It’s a point which makes the ending seem a bit too corny and happy, undoing the beautiful blend of emotion and comedy which tackles moving on and trying your best but failing. I’m not a happy ending hater, don’t get me wrong, but I do think the films ending is too clean. Maybe I am just bitter with how love works. The story falls flat after the brilliant climax of all the characters coming together for some ‘talking’, and it is all because of the soul mate theme they force into every minute of the final act.

Crazy, Stupid, Love is a great romcom with a nice mix of humour and meaning, though if I was in charge I’d change the ending. Everyone would be miserable and hang themselves. Or something. Actually forget it, I’ll just go back to gouging on ice cream and wine in bed.

4 thoughts on “Crazy, Stupid, Love

  1. the way you wrote this review makes me want to watch it. Maybe I should go and kill this want off with a session of ‘True Romance’.
    Also, what does ice cream taste like? Cannae remember…

Leave a Reply

