Currently Listening To: Grimes – Visions

Grimes – Visions 
Release Date: 31st January 2012
Genre: Dream Pop
Arbutus 

When I think of Visions, I think of the Visions by the soft and sweet Abnormality. Give it a listen and you to will understand why the word Visions is attached so vividly to that one song. You will be hearing it echo through your head in hell. This Visions however is a more pleasurable type, even if Grimes sound a bit mucky. But you couldn’t have a band called Sparkle and Shine. Actually, that doesn’t sound that bad. 

Visions has been a soundtrack for my Sunday brush and pan cleaning for a few months now, but I’ve finally gone and bought the CD so I can feel as clean as the clean up I do on my room. It may not sound like the most evocative music when you remember it by a mundane repetitive activity, but I like to clean the grime away while listening to soothing pop beats and a sense of my mind being taken places out in the twilight. Though sometimes it is hard to understand just what she’s singing about, when her vocals seem to morph into a sound to accompany the rest of the industrial sounding electronica. It’s all very pleasing to the ears though, Grimes kind of drags you into her dark but poppy world.

An album to listen to when cleaning.

Leave a Reply

