Currently Listening To: CSS – Cansei De Ser Sexy

CSS – Cansei De Ser Sexy
Release Date: 9th October 2005
Genre: Electronic Rock
Sub Pop

My college album. It’s been a long time since I’ve made love while listening to death from above, but I’ve been in need of Lovefoxxx and her crazy antics. Can’t believe it’s been five years really, the tracks still feel fresh in my head after the long break, though college feels like a distant speck in my mind. Ah 2007, how I miss you! I’m thinking. Don’t think too much. 

CSS is a Brazilian band and they have certainly provided something interesting with their début. I’m not sure if they’ve carried on providing cheap synth beats and witty lyrics to their later albums, but everything here is an eclectic hit. I spent many afternoons listening to the album on repeat, and everything seemed a little brighter. The opening track ‘CSS Suxxx’ is just those two words repeated till the end to a pop beat and the realisation comes that this is a silly band playing silly songs, but the sort of silly I can get behind. ‘Meeting Paris Hilton’ , ‘Fuck Off Is Not The Only Word You Know’ already set expectations with their titles alone and it is refreshing to listen to a fun band which works without coming across as cheap. But the killer ‘Let’s Make Love And Listen To Death From Above’ and ‘Off The Hook’ push CSS outside of the novelty zone. The former has a dream like quality while the latter provides lyrics I’ve been repeating in my head for years. ‘Why is that we stand so still? People gonna start thinking we’re statues.’ It brings back a lot of fond memories of college time, and I’m happy five years on I can once again listen to it on repeat and desire to do so.

It almost makes me want to say CSS is my hot sex. Almost. 

An album to listen to when you’re in a silly mood but don’t want to resort to the Cartoons.

Leave a Reply

